SONPM Update #10 – New Executive Committee Members

The 2021 AAP Section runoff Ballots were counted a few months ago and I want to formally welcome two new members to the SONPM executive committee—they will be seated November 1st, shortly after the National Conference and Exhibition.

Wendy Timpson will represent District I. Wendy hails from Boston, where she has been on the faculty at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center for the past 6 years. She completed medical school and training at University of Massachusetts. She is actively engaged in quality improvement, with particular interests in opioid-exposed infants, increasing breast milk use and optimizing family centered care. You may know her from her leadership role in the VON Critical Transitions Learning Collaborative. She quoted Frank Bednarek in her bio: "when available, use the evidence, otherwise use common sense, then open your eyes wide and learn from the babies." She comes across as deeply rooted in the value of relationships, enthusiastic about New England, her work and partnerships. We look forward to working with her on the executive committee.

John Lloyd will represent District VII. John is an Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Texas Dell Medical school and serves as the Division Chief of Neonatology for Dell Children's Hospital and the Ascension Texas Ministry. He trained in San Antonio (MD), Wake Forest (Residency), University of Illinois at Chicago (MPH), and Northwestern (Fellowship). He holds leadership roles within Mednax, including Co-Chair of the Neonatal Medical Directors Collaborative. He is engaged with Texas State Health Services, serving as a NICU Verification surveyor, is chair of his local Regional Advisory Council Perinatal Care Region Committee. And chair-elect of the RAC/PCR Alliance. John serves on the Executive Committee of the Texas Collaborative for Healthy Mothers and Babies, the CDC designated organization for neonatal and maternal quality improvement projects in Texas.

This means we will see two other great contributors to Section leadership step down from their roles as District Representatives. Munish Gupta will remain on the executive committee as the SONPM chair-elect. Clara Song has recently moved from Oklahoma to southern California; she will continue to chair the Media and Communications Committee for the Section. It is with sincere and copious gratitude that we thank them both for their enthusiastic engagement with the leadership of the Section, and look forward to continuing to work together in new capacities.

Here is the list of all of the district representatives to the SONPM executive committee. We encourage you to contact them with your interests, concerns and suggestions. We enjoy the privilege of leadership but this is YOUR section!

District I:Munish GuptaDistrict II:Shetal ShahDistrict III:Michael PosenchegDistrict IV:Brian Hackett

mgupta@bidmc.harvard.edu Shetal.Shah@wmchealth.org Michael.Posencheg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu brian.hackett@vumc.org District V:Beena SoodDistrict VI:Josh PetrekinDistrict VII:Clara SongDistrict VIII:Jim BarryDistrict IX:Alexis DavisDistrict X:Ravi Patel

Bsood@med.wayne.edu jepetrikin@cmh.edu clarasong@me.com James.Barry@ucdenver.edu alexis.davis@stanford.edu rmpatel@emory.edu

Best regards,, Lily

Lily J. Lou, MD, FAAP Chair, AAP Section on Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Co-chair, SONPM Advocacy Committee <u>lilylou@mindspring.com</u> (907) 632-4378